California Schools Receive “Safe Sports School” Award

24 California high schools have received the National Athletic Trainers’
Association’s (NATA) “Safe Sports School” Award, recognizing schools that
have taken important steps towards ensuring student-athlete safety.

The schools met criteria with 10 conditions, including creating a
comprehensive athletic health care administrative system, providing preparticipation physical examinations, developing injury and illness
prevention strategies, and educating athletes and parents about the
potential benefits and risks in sports.

“These schools have gone above and beyond to put lifesaving
procedures in place to meet NATA’s conditions,” said Jason Bennett,
president of the California Athletic Trainers’ Association. “We applaud
their efforts.”

The schools, which stretch from the southern to northern end of California,

  • Alhambra High School, Martinez
  • Bellarmine College Preparatory, San Jose
  • Bishop Amat Memorial High School, La Puente
  • Bishop O'Dowd High School, Oakland
  • Castilleja School, Palo Alto
  • Central East High School, Fresno
  • Chaminade College Preparatory, West Hills
  • Christian Brothers High School, Sacramento
  • De La Salle High School, Concord
  • Diamond Bar High School, Diamond Bar
  • Edison High School, Huntington Beach
  • Francis Parker School, San Diego
  • Godinez Fundamental High School, Santa Ana
  • Jesuit High School, Carmichael
  • Justin-Siena High School, Napa
  • Marin Academy, San Rafeal
  • Menlo School, Atherton
  • Northgate High School, Walnut Creek
  • Northwood High School, Irvine
  • Rancho Cucamonga High School, Rancho Cucamonga
  • Righetti High School, Santa Maria
  • Sacred Heart Schools, Atherton
  • San Juan Hills High School
  • Santa Maria High School, Santa Maria
  • Francis High School, La Canada
  • Francis High School, Watsonville
  • Valley High School, Santa Ana
  • Venice High School, Los Angeles
  • Village Christian School, Sun Valley
© 2016 California Athletic Trainers' Association. All rights reserved.